Down Memory Lane

Posted: December 2, 2014 in The Daily Post, writing and blogging
Tags: , ,

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “An Extreme Tale.”

It was early this year when one one and only shortfilm got the award for best student film. I still remember the joyful screams of my colleagues coming from the other end of the line. My name appeared in yet another newspaper article even though they spelt it incorrectly.

The months that followed was a happy one but it was short lived. The chibok Girls were kidnapped by the well known terrorist group BokoHaram. I began to wonder what my fate as a female was in the world. I felt insecure, afraid and numb in a country I grew to love. I no longer had the zeal to do what I loved. I just wanted to stay at home and never go out. The depression was setting in and the fear gradually increasing.

I felt guilty for laughing, eating and sleeping, when those girls were still out there in the bush suffering.

At that particular juncture, I just wanted to leave the world but it struck me as pointless. I said to myself “you can’t stop what is happening. It is impossible to leave in a world that is void of suffering. Not when the lust for power is still out there”.
I gradually got over it and spent my time praying and hoping that those people who are suffering out there, find the strength to keep on living.

If there is one thing I believe, it is that there is always peace after the storm.

Comments
  1. ARK says:

    “there is always peace after the storm.” wow what a line… loved it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. so true. Peace can come after the storm. Its what can drive us forward. Hope your 2015 is a great one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

