Iniquitous Me.

Posted: December 4, 2014 in The Daily Post, writing and blogging
Tags: , , , , ,

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Wronged Objects.”

If your furniture, appliances, and other inanimate objects at home had feelings and emotions, to which item would you owe the biggest apology?
(Thanks for suggestion a similar prompt, zaji!)

I renamed my Canon 550D Eric. He was sleek, fast, unique and so alive! He wasn’t just an “it”. When I hit him mistakenly, he’d refuse to shine his beautiful light. If I didn’t clean him, he’d look so dull. If I didn’t use him, he’d enter my thoughts and I’d just have to go pick him from the top shelf  made specially for him. He loved my attention and I loved his beautiful pictures. He was able to capture, captivate and inspire.

But I betrayed him. He wanted only me to use him but I rented him out. They tortured him and when I got him back, he needed to be treated surgically. I should not have given him to that man for repairs.  I just wanted my Eric back. I forgot to think about facts, such as: Do I know this man? Can I trust him with my prized possession?

Days turned into weeks and weeks into months.  It’s been exactly one year since I last saw Eric and I have no idea where he is. Instead all I am left with is the mini white box he came in, sitting on his shelf.  He was only one and a half years old and hadn’t even showed his full potential.

No one will ever treat your object like you do.

Comments
  1. pine333 says:

    Agreed. Never ever give your most priceless inanimate possession out! It’s a taboo, are you mad?! My darling possession at the moment is my car. May God Almighty help that unfortunate individual that puts their greasy fingers on her body. My car is my cup of coffee. Yeah😍

    Liked by 1 person

  2. pine333 says:

    Reblogged this on pine333 and commented:
    Got that right.

    Like

Leave a Reply

