Six Feet Under

Posted: December 6, 2014 in The Daily Post
Tags: , , , ,

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Gut Feeling.”

When’s the last time you followed your instinct despite not being sure it was the right thing to do? Did it end up being the right call?

We had a movie shoot that day. However, there was some kind of argument about which location to go to first. The shooting schedule was missing and we had to type a new one. What no one knew was that I had a hard copy of the schedule. For some reason I did not want us to shoot at a location which was in the main market of Jos, because I was a bit uncomfortable about going there. It was too crowded and that is where the terrorists like to place their bombs. Also, I had not told my mother that we going to shoot there. I knew she would say no, and I was really desperate to shoot that particular film.

I told them I’d type one fast. While typing, I excluded the location in the market. It was quite easy to convince the crew that the schedule was 100% correct, because the market scene was not in the script, as it was decided upon during a meeting.

We were on set when we saw the smoke at a distance. It was gradually increasing and it filled the sky. Phone calls started coming in. We heard the news. A bomb had detonated. Few seconds later, we got the second bad news of a different bomb going off.

Guess where… at the market. One hundred and fifty people died.

image

I and my crew members might have been six feet under by now.

Comments
  1. gossamerwhip says:

    I’ve never really NOT believed in the sixth sense that we as humans have so successfully weaned out of our systems…. we’re born with it and it manifests in weird ways (at least that’s what i think) and your story was a clear example that sometimes, gut feelings are SO true.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. maisstrauss says:

    I agree with you totally. And yes it is super WIERD. I call gut feelings, the little voice and I have become slightly accustomed to it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

